Tags

, , , , , , ,

Image

 

This vanilla cashew ‘milk’ started out as part of a juice cleanse I did about a month ago. It was one of my 8 juices I drank every day for 5 days. I am not vegan and I love a big glass of milk every now and then, but something about the taste and texture of this has kept me coming back for more. I find myself making this on a weekly basis, and having half a glass after a work out to give me some energy, or a glass in the morning with a slice of toast. I used the recipe I found here http://www.choosingraw.com/vanilla-cashew-milk/ and have tweaked it a little bit time after time. This is a great example of an awesome drink or snack that is full of the good fats. 

Vanilla Cashew Milk

Image

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of unsalted raw cashews (soaked in water over night)
  • 4 cups of water
  • 4 pitted dates
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • pinch of pink himalayan salt
  • two pinches of cinnamon

Directions:

Soak cashews over night in water. Add all ingredients into blender or food processor and blend 2-3 minutes or until very smooth. I don’t have the most hi-tech blender and mine does the trick so don’t fret, any type of blender will work. Chill, and shake well before serving. There is always the option of throwing a light cloth over a container and in batches let the milk strain out. You can then use the bits and pieces for any raw snacks you want to make. I prefer mine thick and creamy, especially when I was drinking this on the cleanse, it made it feel like a real meal.

Image

 

Cheers ❤ Veggie Ash

