Tags

,

Happy Halloween!

I had a Halloween birthday party to attend this weekend, and I thought cup cakes were the perfect snack to bring. Usually I always use boxed cake mix with a homemade butter cream icing. Lately everyone around me has been making such awesome sweets and treats, I decided to get brave and make everything from scratch with the guidance of a recipes via Martha Stewart found here for the cake http://www.marthastewart.com/315293/meyer-lemon-raspberry-cupcakes and the help of my friend Jessica, who could give Buddy from Cake Boss a run for his money. For the icing we went with a lighter swiss meringue butter cream http://www.marthastewart.com/318727/swiss-meringue-buttercream-for-cupcakes

Flavor wise we went with vanilla for both the cake and icing, this was a 3 hours project all said and done. The instructions were pretty basic, the only issue we had was curdling the icing, while beating it, it was too warm temperature wise. We found a quick fix by putting it in the fridge for 20 minutes and re-beating, and voila! Problem solved. Oh, also, have a full bodied apron, I was covered in flour!

Image

Image

Image

 

Verdict on the taste, 10/10, the icing was so light and it melted in your mouth, and my mother couldn’t stop telling me how the cake tasted like her favorite pound cake. Take the time and make these, it will be worth it. Just remember you may need an extra hard work out the next few days!

Ash ❤ 

